Most of us experienced some kind of problems with skin at some point in life. I have faced such problems just recently when I moved to another country and changed my job… Well, big changes have brought me a big stress, and the stress has brought me certain skin problems. After trying to solve my problems alone with many different products, and also after visiting a dermatologist I have decided that it’s time to take the bit between my teeth. I’ve learned that I should always listen to my heart… And my skin. 

First there was stress…

About 6 months after I left my hometown I started to feel stressed. My new job was fine, it was a kind of job I was dreaming of. I’ve always wanted to work in a lab, doing some “science”…  And now I finally do. But each job brings certain responsibilities and obligations, and before you realize it you are stuck in numerous stressful situations.

I started noticing that something was wrong when my face turned red. My whole face was red, with some parts that were even more red than the rest. All products I have been using before started to irritate my skin, and whenever I washed my face, or applied a cream on it, it was just worse, more red and even itchy sometimes.

… then I tried to change something…

So I’ve tried to change my cleanser, toner, moisturizer, foundation… I have tried to replace every single product I have been using, one by one,  with a new one, suitable for sensitive skin. But it didn’t work. My skin still looked the same, red and miserable.

Some time has passed, about 3 months, and my struggle didn’t end. I wasn’t getting anywhere with testing new products, and I finally decided to ask for help. Visiting a dermatologist should be a good choice. So I went there and told my story. The dermatologist told me that I have very sensitive skin and eczema on my face. That already seemed a bit odd to me, but I felt relieved once she recommended a few good products I should use to make my skin feel and look better.

 As you can assume, I’ve purchased those products straight away. They were quite pricey but nothing is too high price to pay, just if it helps my skin to get better. Unfortunately, it didn’t help much. At first it seemed a bit better, overall redness of my skin was after some time concentrated only in certain regions, mostly on my cheeks, leaving the rest of my face with normal, healthy skin color. But that was not good enough. It was a tiny improvement, yes, but my face was still red, although only parts of it, and it was still itchy every now and then.

… and I tried to change something else…

Looking at me struggling with my own skin, my boyfriend told me that I might try to do some sports. We all know that sport is good and healthy, so it would not hurt to try…

pexels-photo
Source: pexel.com

Indeed, after less than a month of running (3-4 times a week) I’ve noticed a big change. My facial redness almost completely disappeared, my skin is soft and smooth and it hasn’t been like that since I can remember…

Well, of course, it wasn’t enough just to go out jogging few times. I have changed also some important parts of skin care routine, avoiding products that do damage of any kind to my skin, and even including some new steps and products that have a good influence on my skin. It was as simple as that. I will write some more details about it in my next posts.

Sometimes we need to listen to advice from someone who knows more than we do. When it comes to skin and skin problems, it is quite probable that even a bad dermatologist will know more about it than well informed beauty blogger. 🙂 But sometimes you need to listen to yourself, to what your body is telling you.

