Whenever you get a sunburn, you probably get an advice to apply some soothing substances on your skin, and it is quite often, among others, aloe vera. While some people use it on a daily basis to treat all kinds of skin conditions, others take it as a dietary supplement. Today I will tell you a story about my experience with it. You might be surprised.. 

aloe_veraAloe vera is a succulent plant species of the genus Aloe. Wikipedia knows it, some of you know it… It is a known fact. We also know that Aloe vera is used for many different purposes- it can be grown as a decorative plant, but it can be also found in many products, such as juices and skin lotions. The clear gel from Aloe vera leaves contains 99% water and the rest are vitamins, amino acids, lipids, sterols and sugars. In total, Aloe vera has about 75 potentially active compounds that are believed to have anti-inflammatory, healing, moisturizing, anti-aging, antiseptic, and even anti-tumor activity. Although there is still no scientific proof that Aloe vera has healing properties, cosmetic companies often add its derivatives to makeup, tissues, sunscreens, shaving creams and shampoos.

So, Aloe vera is everywhere and helps with (almost) everything:

  1. It is a good moisturizer
  2. It treats acne 
  3. It makes stretch marks less visible
  4. It treats sunburn
  5. It has anti-aging properties

For all those reasons, I was really curious and I wanted to try it out on my sensitive skin. I read many reviews about the product I decided to use, and they were all positive, so I didn’t have any reason not to give it a try.

I purchased Aloe vera gel by Art Naturals from Amazon. 100% pure & natural, cold pressed. The packaging says the gel can be used to soothe sunburn, scratches, dry skin, eczema, poison ivy, poison oak, razor burns, wind burn, cracked skin, most bug stings, various rashes and numerous other ailments and skin conditions. Basically, it can be used for whatever you want, there is a chance that it will help with it. 🙂

aloe2

This product comes in a cute bottle with a pump on top which makes the application easier.

aloe5.jpg

Back then, when I decided to try out this “miracle plant”, I had certain problems with my skin; I had dry patches all over my face and quite large areas with visible redness. My main motivation to use Aloe was to get rid of the moisturizer I used at the moment. The idea was to keep my skincare as simple as possible. But unfortunately, it didn’t work.

This product is quite liquid, so it is not super easy to apply it. But once you do, it will stay on your skin and after just a short period of time your skin will be dry, without any product on the surface, without sticky feeling… That makes it really good choice for people with oily skin, because it will most certainly not make your skin more oily, but it will efficiently moisturize it.

The smell of the gel is not the nicest smell on Earth, but it doesn’t stay on the skin once the product is absorbed. Which is good.

The very first time I applied the gel on my face, it turned red and swollen. It felt quite bad, so I rinsed it off immediately. Few days later I gave it another chance, and it felt the same. It was clear that “the plant of immortality” will not do any good to my face so I gave it up. There is a warning on the packaging that says that irritations can appear on sensitive skin. Well, I definitely fall into that category.

However, I started to use it on my legs after waxing. And that works great! I cannot claim that it reduces redness and irritation any better than a good body lotion, I simply didn’t compare both. But I must say that Aloe does a great job here. It is probably a good choice when your skin is irritated, so you don’t really want to rub some product into it. You just want to apply it to the skin and hope that it will get absorbed and do the job. Aloe definitely will. Thumbs up for this one!

Just recently I caught a cold and started to use Aloe to reduce chafing of the nose. And here comes another thumb up.

The gel I use contains only few ingredients: Aloe Barbadensis, Citric Acid, Ascorbic Acid, Potassium Sorbate and Xanthan. It is not even necessary to mention what does each ingredient do in the product, they’ve already done it:

aloe4

Although it didn’t work on my face, I am still quite happy with it. I found some other ways to use the gel and that works pretty well. However, if I have to be completely honest, I am not sure if I will use it again once I go through this bottle. It just doesn’t make that big difference for me. Well, maybe it’s just because my first experience was pretty bad…

Finally, if you guys have any experience with Aloe gel or some skincare products that contain it, please, let me know. I would be glad to hear other opinions, maybe I will even change mine. 🙂

Xx

