In my previous post I wrote a review for the new blush and lipstick from Lancôme, and I announced that I will review a liquid foundation – Teint Idole Ultra Cushion. So here it is. 🙂

009_Lancome.jpg

This foundation is, at least at first sight, a cushion version of an old, well known Teint Idole Ultra 24h foundation. Although you would think it is the same foundation but in a different packaging, they actually differ in several points, but I will talk about it a little bit later.

Speaking about the packaging, this one is very nice indeed – very beautiful and luxurious. It comes with a small mirror inside. I am always super happy when I see the a mirror in the packaging, I simply love mirrors. 😛 The cushion itself is also much more luxurious than the other cushions you can purchase. Lancôme developed so called Double Matrix Technology that is designed for high coverage foundation. Basically, it is not an ordinary sponge. 😛 When you open the first lid you can find small sponge puff that can be used for the application. The “extraordinary sponge” (cushion) hides behind the second lid that prevent it from drying out.

005_lancome

Teint Idole Ultra Cushion I got is in the shade Nr. 03 Beige Pêche, a quite good match for me (*happydance*). It is easily applied with a brush. Works also quite well with beauty blender (fake one), but I had the feeling that it soaked a lot of a product, so I switched back to brushes. In both cases it blends really nicely and the coverage is great. Unlike most of other cushion products, this one is pretty high coverage. Just a thin layer of the foundation covers most of the imperfections on my skin, and looks super natural. If I need even more coverage, it is possible to apply it a little bit more generously and woila! Still looks beautiful!

Teint Idole Ultra Cushion has a natural matte finish, more natural than matte, velvety and flawless. 🙂 Anyhow, even my combination to oily skin doesn’t look shiny after a long day (ca. 10 hours, this baby is loooong lasting). The finish is actually the main difference compared to Teint Idole Ultra 24h which has a matte finish.

The scent of the product is pleasant and subtle. Once the product is applied I couldn’t smell it anymore, but any time I open the lid and use the foundation the smell is there. Mmm…

Another important thing to mention is the SPF in the product – 50, perfect for sunny summer days! Just to remind you, Teint Idole Ultra 24h has SPF 15 in it, so this is another big difference between those two.

Finally, I come to the last point – price. Teint Idole Ultra Cushion can be bought for 42,99 € a piece, 13 g. Cushion soaked with the foundation can be replaced, and costs 29,99 €  for 13 g. If we compare that with Teint Idole Ultra 24h and its price of 44,99 € for 30 ml, the cushion version turns out to be significantly more expensive. The cushion makes it possible to apply the right amount of the product, without wasting too much and therefore it saves the product so we can use it for longer time. On the other hand, it is quite exposed to bacteria from the environment so it has a life time of only six months. After that you will have to replace it anyway.

Regardless of price, I am very convinced by this product and it is one of the best foundations I have ever tried, together with its “older brother” Teint Idole Ultra 24h. The old one in the winter and the cushion version in the summer when my skin is more exposed to the sun, sounds like a plan! 🙂

013_lancome

How do you guys like cushion foundations? Have you tried any or you’d like to try some? Write me your opinions and experiences in comments, and see you in the next post! :*

Xx

