Since the first post about my sensitive skincare routine I have tried and introduced some new products to my morning and night routine. The winter is coming, skin needs more hydration and generally more care. One of the new products I treat my skin with is Mad Hippie- Vitamin C serum. And I love it!

Vitamin C is without a doubt valuable addition to a skin care routine that can improve the appearance and overall health of the skin. If you want to know more about what vitamin C actually does to our skin, you can read it in one of my previous posts – here.

Anyway, since vitamin C is such a good thing for the skin, I decided to give it a try and include it to my everyday’s skin care routine. I wanted to use a serum that is simple, doesn’t contain too many ingredients and, also very important, doesn’t cost a fortune. These requirements seem quite simple, but it was not easy at all to find a product like this.

Finally, I came across Mad Hippie. This American brand is not so well-known but their speciality are natural skin care products boosted with more active ingredients, which makes products more effective.  

madhippie1

Mad Hippie Vitamin C serum contains vitamin C in the form of sodium ascorbyl phosphate, but also vitamin E, ferulic acid and hyaluronic acid, all desirable active ingredients. Ferulic acid is antioxidant (vitamin E also), used to stabilize vitamin C in products. Hyaluronic acid is, on the other hand, one of the major components of skin, involved in tissue repair. All of the above mentioned makes this serum perfect for anti-age skin care. Well, it is never too early to take care about your skin and prevent it from aging. 🙂

madhippie2

The serum has mild pleasant smell, due to chamomile flower extract in the product, and white-ish, almost transparent appearance. The packaging prevents the serum from UV exposure that can lead to degradation of vitamin C. If the color of the product changes to yellow (which can be easily seen in the pipette which comes with the packaging), vitamin C is oxidized and shouldn’t be used anymore. It is recommended to keep the product away from high temperatures as well as air and UV exposure. 

madhippie3

Finally, the most important part, does it work? Well, I cannot tell you about long-term results or how effective it is as anti-age serum, but I can tell you that I noticed a visible difference on my skin since I treat it with this serum. You know, when you read reviews for certain products it is often said that skin gets instant glow and becomes immediately smoother, softer… Since I tried this serum I know exactly what does it mean. After only few applications I really noticed that my skin has some healthy glow. My skin looks satisfied. I know it might sound ridiculous if you never experienced such changes on your skin, but it is really true. I haven’t noticed that my fine lines magically disappeared of course, they are still here. And I haven’t noticed that my skin tone is more even – I use the serum for only three weeks, once a day (in the morning), and this is quite short period of time to notice results like that. But, I am telling you: glow, smoothness and softness. Awesome!

This serum can be drying for some skin types so it is recommended to use it together with Mad Hippie moisturizer. I use the moisturizer I usually use on top of this serum and I haven’t noticed any signs of dry skin. 

In the end, I must say, this is affordable product, costs slightly more than 20 Eur, depends on the web page you buy it from, I bought it from iHerb for about 25 Eur. For this price you get a product that contains really good ingredients that actually do something (great) to your skin. 

Do you use serums in your skin care routine? If yes, what kind of serums? Do you use vitamin C? Share your thoughts with me in comments. See you soon! :*

